top of page

About Us

North American Immuno-Hematology Clinical Education & Research Consortium

The mission of the NICER consortium is to provide a collaborative multidisciplinary environment to advance the education, clinical care, and research involving pediatric and adult patients with immuno-hematologic disorders.

Scope: The target patient population encompasses all disorders within immuno-hematology including those with complex immune cytopenias, bone marrow failure, lymphoproliferative and histiocytic disorders, immune deficiencies, autoinflammatory disorders and immune dysregulatory syndromes along with emerging phenotypes of a similar nature. Given that institutional referral patterns and expertise vary, NICER is committed to being purposefully inclusive of pediatric and adult providers from multiple disciplines including, allergy/immunology, genetics, hematology/oncology, hematopoietic stem cell transplant, rheumatology, infectious disease, gastroenterology, endocrinology, etc. to enrich the educational environment and research goals of the consortium.




1. Establish a network of clinicians and researchers with interest and expertise, to share ideas, provide care and study patients with immuno-hematologic disorders. 


2. Utilize the collective experiences and the multi-disciplinary expertise within the consortium to provide a unique learning and mentoring environment open to both members and non-members.


3. Leverage the pooled, diverse resources of the members to create a platform for clinical trials, basic science, and translational research with the development of a clinically annotated database, biorepository and network of member centers unified via a central IRB.


4. Partner with academic societies, institutes and foundations with mutual objectives, to empower the educational initiatives and accelerate research discoveries in areas related to immuno-hematology.

Meet Our Executive Committee

Kelly Walkovich, MD

Executive Chair

James Connelly, MD

Research Chair

Christen Ebens, MD MPH

Steering Committee Chair

Saara Kaviany, DO

Junior Councilor

headshot 2016_edited.jpg
Melissa Rose, DO

Education Chair

Rohith Jesudas, MD

Communications & Advocacy Chair

Roshini Abraham.jpg
Roshini Abraham, PhD

Senior Councilor

Evelyn Argirokastritis


bottom of page