top of page


The NICER consortium relies on the Executive Committee for strategic planning and to steward the consortium towards the fulfillment of the collective consortium vision. The Steering Committee serves as the voting body of the consortium with each institutional member recognized with an institutional vote generally cast by the institutional PI/co-PI.

Additional committees, including the Education Committee, Research Committee and Patient Advocacy and Communications Committee help shape the teaching objectives, investigative priorities and strengthen our relationships with our patient community and industry partners.

We are always recruiting new, enthusiastic members to join our NICER committees, so please contact us to inquire about available positions!

Click the button to send us an email.

We'd love to hear from you

NICER Committees

Productive committees rely on the energy and expertise of our members as listed below.

Executive Committee

Chair: Kelly Walkovich, MD (University of Michigan)

Members: Melissa Rose, DO (Nationwide Children's Hospital), Jim Connelly, MD (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Rohith Jesudas, MBBS (St. Jude Children's Hospital), Evelyn Argirokastritis (Race for Immunology)

Steering Committee

Chair: TBD

Voting Members:

University of Michigan  

Washington University in St. Louis  

Nationwide Children's Hospital

University of Minnesota 

Cleveland Clinic 

St Jude Children's Hospital 

Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital 

Indiana University

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh

University of South Florida 

Non-Voting Advisory Members:

Patient Advocacy Organizations - Race for Immunology
Industry Partners - Ad hoc

Individual (non-Institutional) Members - TBD

Education Committee

For 2022, we are calling all creative, educational minds to enrich the monthly patient case conference, design the 2022 NICER Hybrid Symposium, and start new peer-education initiatives (e.g. development of themed mini-symposia, invite-a-NICER-speaker program, Project ECHO education) and much more!

Chair: Melissa Rose, DO (Nationwide Children's Hospital)

Members: Irina Pateva, MD (Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital), Steven Allen, MD (UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh), Kat Overholt, MD (Indiana University), Tom Michniacki, MD (University of Michigan), Saara Kaviany, DO (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Kara Coffey, MD (UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh)

Research Committee

For 2022, we are calling all detail-oriented, clever folks with experience in clinical care as well as translational/bench research to become engaged. Plans include: development of the overarching NICER research aims with identification of funding opportunities, advancing the NICER "parent" Patient Registry study with database development and inclusion of genetic/imaging data, and identifying currently feasible research opportunities.

Chair: Jim Connelly, MD (Vanderbilt University Medical Center)

Members: Adrian Lesmana, MD (Cleveland Clinic), Eyal Grunebaum, MD (University of Toronto), Kelly Walkovich, MD (University of Michigan), Saara Kaviany, DO (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Dan Dulek, MD (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Scott Canna, MD (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia), Sarah Henrickson, MD PhD (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia), Beth Thielen, MD PhD (University of Minnesota), Christen Ebens, MD (University of Minnesota), Megan Cooper, MD PhD (Washington University in St. Louis), Julia Warren, MD PhD (Washington University in St. Louis), Lisa Forbes Satter, MD (Baylor College of Medicine), Rebecca Marsh, MD (Cincinnati Children's Hospital), Jennifer Blase, MD PhD (University of Michigan), Sharon Singh, MD (University of Michigan).

bottom of page